top of page
  • Adumuah N.N. Richard

Dear Youth, IDEAS ARE NOT ENOUGH

Project Presentation
Bristish Council/ Nesta Creative Enterprise Training 2018

A year ago, in a very sleepy all-night rehearsal for an upcoming music concert, a colleague and I landed a brilliant concept for a dance performance. We were both excited about this different idea inspired by the choristers and the conductor. In our effort not to forget, we then coded it as "idea". And truly our idea remained just idea even after a year until recently.

As a religious follower of the world of dance series, I watched the group S-Rank perfectly executing our idea as if they were in our minds. I was shocked to the bone and so I paused for a moment to ponder. In my sober reflections, I arrived at a conclusion that "ideas" are like objects floating in the air or like wave that flows from one person to the other or perhaps from one continent to the other.

In that solemn moment I remembered how my saving project for kids was expanding to capture a different market and had an idea to start a new savings module i named “Mobisave” as far back as 2011. My myopic mindset thought it was such a big task so I shelved it only to see the perfect execution of this idea by the telecommunication companies. Today the mobile phone does even far more than I envisioned. So these are the lessons I gleaned.

1. Ideas are not exclusive to just a person, family, an institution or even a government.

2. Ideas don't mean anything until efforts are made to execute them.

3. Time runs faster than you think. Time is not money, Time is life.

4. Never be afraid to take a bold step to make your ideas a reality.

As African youth our greatest downfall is the “Your too Young” syndrome that makes us believe in the lie that we are not yet matured enough to start something on our own. On the contrary too, we are also the reason our ideas don’t materialize because we lack the boldness to act and confront our fears of failing.

My fellow youth, please understand that our youthful days are numbered. Our world is moving at a pace faster than we think and until you and I decide to take action our so called wonderful ideas might just be making millions for someone else. In a nut shell, all am saying is take action now and make your ideas a reality.


@R.N.N. ADUMUAH2018

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page